Chicken and Asparagus Pasta

I love finding recipes on Pinterest. I am constantly searching for dinner menu items for me to make for myself and boyfriend. Especially recipes that I can have as leftovers for days. Being an intern, I can only afford to make a good dinner every so often. I wanted to start with an easy but yummy (obviously) recipe. So I found this pasta dish.

What you’ll need:

  • Grab a box of your favorite small pasta: rigatoni, penne, shells, etc…
  • A pound of asparagus
  • A pound of chicken
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • Shredded parmesan cheese

pasta 001

pasta 006

pasta 002

Start by boiling a large pot of water to cook the pasta. Then cook the pasta according to the box directions. While the pasta is cooking, begin cooking your chicken. Season to your liking. I used salt and pepper but you can probably use any sort of chicken seasoning.

pasta 005

To save a step, while the chicken and pasta is cooking, cut off the ends of the asparagus, throw those out (unless you like them), and cut the asparagus into halves. Throw those into the boiling pot of pasta for the last two minutes. Drain the pasta and asparagus.

pasta 007

Grease the dish you will use to put the meal into the oven. Since you will have already boiled the cut asparagus pieces with the pasta, layer all of it (pasta and asparagus) into the bottom of the dish.

pasta 008

pasta 009

Add the chicken on top of that.

pasta 010

Next, pour the 1/4 cup of olive oil over the whole dish.

pasta 011

Cover with the shreded parmesan cheese.

pasta 012

Place into the oven and put it on broil for just a few minutes. Watch it with the oven door cracked open so it doesn’t burn. Let it get slightly brown on top then take it out.

pasta 013

My oven sucks so it only broils in the middle, but yours should work all over.

pasta 015

Serve on a dish, top off with more cheese and enjoy!

pasta 020

This is such a simple dinner to prepare and it was delicious. Please let me know if you try this and if you have any recommendations to make it better. I hope to make more yummy dishes in the near future. We’ll see. I hope you all enjoy this as much as I did.

Leave a Comment

