Mad About Maxis – Tutorial Tuesday

I want to try something new here…Tutorial Tuesdays. Now, this doesn’t mean I will be posting a tutorial every Tuesday (although that would be fantastic if I could) but when I do post one, it will be on Tuesdays. Hints the name :)

Anyone who knows me, knows I love maxis…skirts and dresses. And as you know by now, I also love floral prints, specifically for spring.

I decided that I was going to take my sewing machine home during spring break so I could make a maxi skirt for this season. But then I decided against bringing it home because I had already packed a lot and didn’t want to burden myself with packing more. Instead, while I was home I searched for the perfect fabric and bought all the supplies I would need to make the maxi skirt. I got home, measured and cut my fabric into skirt panels and pockets and then waited until I got back to school to sew it together. This way, once I got back to school, all I would have to do is sew, saving me a ton of time. I always find that measuring and cutting fabric is the most tedious and time-consuming part about sewing.

Many of the items I sew I follow from online tutorials. I am not the biggest fan of patterns because they are a pain in the butt to cut and fold back up afterwards, even though using a pattern helps you get more accurate measurements. That being said, I made this maxi skirt following this tutorial from A Small Snippet. This is the third item I have sewn following one of her sewing tutorials. The other two were a mini and a maxi dress from this tutorial. Just like my post on the turban headband, I am going to post my own step-by-step pictures of how I made the skirt.

Supplies:

Fabric of your choosing. I purchased 1.5 yards, I am 5’3 and this was more than enough. I had extra room at the bottom to cut out pockets.//Elastic for your waistband. I used a 2″ elastic, mainly because that is what LeAna from A Small Snippet did, but also because I pictured the 2″ looking better than another size.//Matching thread//Scissors//Sewing Machine//Safety pin

maxu skirt 023

1. Measure the part of your waist or hips where you want to top of the skirt to lay. The part of my waist I chose is approximately 30″.

2. Measure how long you want the length of the skirt to be and then add approximately six inches to that. The extra 6 inches is so you have space to hem the bottom of the skirt and fold the top down to create a casing for your elastic.

22nd birthday 004

3. Cut two panels of the skirt. Each panel should be the width of your waist (or hips) you measure from step 1 and the length from step 2. I ended up with two panels each 28.5″ wide and 45″ long. (I would have chosen to cut it 30″ wide but my fabric wasn’t wide enough).

22nd birthday 007

4. This is where you cut your pockets out if you choose to add them. There is a PDF document to cut out of the pocket pattern over at A Small Snippet where the original tutorial is. I chose to trace around my hand and then cut the outline.

maxu skirt 002 maxu skirt 003 maxu skirt 004

5. Now that you have your pockets cut, right sides together, pin two to one of the skirt panels. Make sure the pocket pieces are slanted downward. I pinned mine 6 inches from the top, which is what LeAna did as well. Do this on both the skirt panels.

maxu skirt 014

6. Sew the pockets to the panels with a 1/4 inch seam.

maxu skirt 015

7. Iron the seams.

8. Pin the skirt panels, right side together, with the pockets sticking out.

maxu skirt 016

9. Only sew one side of the panel, making sure to curve around the pocket.

10. Now you have one large skirt panel with a pocket.

maxu skirt 018

11. With the skirt panel laying right side down, fold and iron down 1/4 inch of the fabric at the top. After ironing, fold and iron down another 2 1/2 inches. This will be the casing for your elastic.

maxu skirt 019 maxu skirt 020

12. Sew the bottom edge of the casing.

maxu skirt 021

13. Now pin the panels of the skirt together on the last side, pinning pockets together and following the curve while sewing. Make sure not to sew closed the casing so you can thread the elastic through.

maxu skirt 022

15. If you haven’t cut your elastic yet, do so now. Cut the elastic about 2-4 inches smaller than you waist measurement or wherever you wanted your skirt to sit on you.

maxu skirt 026

14. Now thread the elastic through the casing. This is easiest if you attach a safety pin to lead the elastic through.

maxu skirt 027 maxu skirt 029

15. After you thread the elastic into the casing, sew the ends of it together.

maxu skirt 030

16. Now tuck the raw edges into the casing and sew that up.

maxu skirt 031

17. Now you have a skirt. All that is left is to hem the bottom. Fold the edge over once and iron, then fold and iron again to hide the raw edges.

maxu skirt 035 maxu skirt 036

18. Last but not least, sew the edge and have a finished maxi skirt.

IMG_1772

I finished this later in the evening so I don’t have good photos of me wearing it yet. But I promise to post them once I do.

UPDATED:

maxi skirt 1459

maxi skirt 1462

I really hope you enjoyed this tutorial. Check out A Small Snippet’s tutorial to follow a few extra steps that I took out, including a lining in the skirt and an extra ruffle in the elastic.

Please share with me if you have any great sewing DIYs or if you try this one. I’d love to see how it turned out and what other great ideas you have.

5 thoughts on “Mad About Maxis – Tutorial Tuesday

  1. Love yours! You are so adorable in that. I really like it with the blue-ish colored top you paired it with! I made a similar one, following LeAna’s instructions, too! :) I still haven’t gotten around to doing the hem, though. I get so side tracked, but I plan on doing that tomorrow so I can actually wear my skirt before it turns cold out. I used a cotton fabric for mine since I had so much trouble finding any lighter material like jersey in my area. Ended up finding a dark blue batik (faux batik — it came from Wal-Mart. lol.) on sale for $3 a yard! Love sales on fabric, so I got two yards and ended up with enough to make my skirt and a matching one for my neice. ;) I like the way your softer fabric (looks satiny) falls! I have some satin fabric stashed back that I’ve been scared to work with (never done it with satin before!), & I think I may try a skirt with it. :)

    Well, I love your blog! Keep up the lovely work.

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I’ve been away from the blog for a while but I am going to try to be back! I hope you finally got around to hemming it. I would LOVE to see a picture of your skirt. I am sure it is just lovely. And yes, I love sales on fabric, too. Unfortunately, where I live, there aren’t too many great fabric stores either so I just have to wonder in the fabric aisles for a while until I find something I like. Satin is scarey to sew with, but the fabric I used here is somewhat satiny/silky. I cannot remember what type it is but I made sure it had stretch in it. That was KEY!

Leave a Comment

