A Little About Me & My Musings on Becoming A Better Writer

For the past year or so I have wanted to start my own blog. It’s a great way to express yourself, become a better writer, learn about yourself, tell stories, share ideas, etc…. The only problem is that I don’t know where to start. I have read a lot about good blogs being centered around a theme, i.e. mommy blogs, fashion blogs, how-to blogs, anything focused. But my issue is that I don’t know what I want to center this blog around. I know that I want to become a better writer, for sure. This is because I really want to go into the realm  of Public Relations and to be in PR it is imperative that you know how to write. And I have also read that good writers write, a lot, about anything. So to become a better writer I will start to write. Therefore, I guess I am just going to start out this way. Writing about what comes to mind. My thoughts about my day, my surroundings or my views on certain topics.

Image

Also, writing this blog is a great way to procrastinate what I really need to be doing. For example, I currently need to be writing a paper that is due tomorrow morning. I promise I will get on that shortly. I just really wanted to write and post this first blog post. I have been mulling it over for a little bit now and wanted to get my pen to paper, so to speak.

I think I will start by giving a little background about myself: Let’s see how many sentences I can start with the word, letter actually, “I”. I am a 21 year old, college senior graduating this May from THE Florida State University, home of the Florida State Seminoles (GO ‘NOLES!). I am a proud sister of a Panhellenic Sorority on campus, although I think I would like that to remain a secret as to which one for a little while. You all may comment and guess which one if that is what you fancy. My boyfriend and I have been dating for a little oveImager two and a half years, we just celebrated our third Valentine’s day together last week. My family dynamic is a little crazy to describe, but it isn’t really that crazy when you think about it. I will explain: My older sister (she is 27) and I have the same parents (both mom and dad), then we have a younger half sister (age 16) from our dad and his late ex-girlfriend, then we have another, even younger, half sister (age 13) from our mom and step-dad. See, a little confusing. I usually just stick to tell people that I am one of four girls, because I really am. However, we haven’t all lived in the same house together ever, so I always feel the need to explain. But whose asking? Moving on now. I am a big fan of sewing and crafting. I have sewn several outfits that I love to wear and I try to get better as I continue. I need to get better at choosing the right fabrics for certain garments, however, I just love the prints of cotton so much that I always want to sew with cotton but then nothing is ever stretchy, so sometimes I have to scrap something I make because it will never fit right. Reading is always a pastime I enjoy, although since being in college I will admit that it is something I don’t do too often anymore. I have two unopened books sitting next to me on my desk currently that I am just waiting to crack open. Once my paper and test are out of the way I will get right on that! As I mentioned previously, I really want to go into PR once I graduate and start my career with that. I currently have a PR internship here in Tallahassee and just recently interviewed for another one. I am still waiting to hear back but fingers crossed that when I do, it will be good news. I also work in a pizza restaurant called Your Pie. I don’t do much pizza making, mostly just checking out customers, but on occasionally, when needed I will step up to the plate. I am not bad at it, but the other people I work with are much better than I am at making perfectly circular dough.

I’m sure I could go on and on about myself, which is weird because when I am asked to tell people about myself I can never come up with anything to say, odd. For now I will leave you with this…”Do in your heart what you feel to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway” – Elanor Roosevelt.

2 thoughts on “A Little About Me & My Musings on Becoming A Better Writer

  1. Welcome to the blogging world! I embarked on the journey a little before you (January) and have been loving it ever since (maybe too much .. i.e. i sometimes do this over homework :s). You have a lovely blog and I am now following you :) Looking forward to more :) xo

    • Thank you Lauren! And I agree with loving it too much, I have on several occasions put off doing homework ;) I checked out your blog as well and it is really quite beautiful, great job! I followed you on GFC. I look forward to seeing more of what you post.

Leave a Comment

